How To Deactivate A Kik Account

Kik is a well-known messaging app for all ages, but everyone has their reasons for which they choose to leave their account. If you’re something who’s concerned about themselves or their child’s privacy or just not enjoying the app, the following methods with show you how you can temporarily and permanently deactivate your Kik account. Both deactivations are very different, so read carefully.

See also: How to change the password on Kik

Permanent and Temporary Deactivation — What’s the Difference?

The first thing to understand before you follow through with any of the steps is to know what exactly the difference is between the two deactivations. Reading this may also help you decide which better suits your purpose for leaving Kik.

Temporary deactivation would mean that you will no longer receive any Kik notifications. It includes emails, messages, and alerts. Users on the app will not be able to search for your username; as in, you won’t be visible to the rest of Kik. If you have made any contact or exchanged messages from people on Kik, you will be removed from their Kik contacts list. Of course, temporary deactivation means that you can log back in whenever you want. You would do this as you usually do — with your Kik username and email (considering you have access to it). You can always reset or change your password if you like.

Permanent deactivation would mean that you will be removed entirely from Kik. Your account will not be accessible to either yourself or others. You wouldn’t receive any emails, alerts, or notifications from Kik. Users on the app will not be able to search for your username, and your profile will be removed from the contact list of anyone you’ve made contact with on the app. If you choose to delete your account permanently, you wouldn’t be able to log back in or have access to any of your messages, photos, or history stored within the app. The only way to get back in would be to make a new account.

Temporary deactivation

To temporarily deactivate your account:

  1. Go to your preferred web browser on any device and enter Kik’s temporary deactivation link (also found on their website) in the address bar. Hit Enter.
  2. Enter the email address associated with your account in the text field, then click the bright green “Go!”. Note that you need to have access to this email to make any deactivation.
  3. Next, check your inbox, where Kik would’ve sent you a link to deactivate your account. Ensure to check the spam folder or wait a few minutes if you don’t see the email immediately.
  4. Once you click on this link, your account will be successfully deactivated.

Permanent deactivation

To permanently deactivate your account:

  1. Go to your preferred web browser on any device and enter Kik’s permanent deactivation link (also found on their website) in the address bar. Hit Enter.
  2. In the appropriate text fields, enter your username and the email address associated with your account. Note that you need to have access to this email to make any deactivation. Kik will also ask you a reason why you’re leaving. Once you have chosen / written your reason and checked off the form, click the green “Go!”.
  3. Next, check your inbox, where Kik would’ve sent you a link to deactivate your account. Ensure to check the spam folder or wait a few minutes if you don’t see the email immediately.
  4. Once you click on this link, your account will be successfully deactivated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *