Delete a WhatsApp message for you and the recipient: this is how you do it

Have you sent a WhatsApp message that you later regret? Fortunately, it is easy to delete the app for both you and the recipient. This is how you do that.

Read on after the ad.

Delete a WhatsApp message: this is how it works

You probably recognize it. You have multiple people with the same name in your contact list and accidentally send the wrong one a WhatsApp message. Or you send a message full of spelling mistakes that may cause confusion about what you actually mean.

Fortunately, it is possible in WhatsApp to delete these messages. The good news is that this is possible for both sides: neither you nor the recipient can read the message after deletion. The person to whom you send the app will instead see a notification that the message has been deleted. As a result, he or she does not know what you have sent.

How to delete a WhatsApp message

Want to delete a WhatsApp message? That works like this:

  1. Open a conversation in WhatsApp;
  2. Press and hold the message you want to delete until a menu appears;
  3. Tap the trash can icon;
  4. In the menu that appears, choose ‘Delete for everyone’;
  5. The message will now be cleared for both you and the recipient.

The time limit between controlling a message and deleting a WhatsApp message is quite long. You have up to an hour after sending to retract the message.

Keep in mind that it will be visible to the recipient that you have deleted a message. The deleted message will then read ‘This message has been deleted’. Of course, it is possible that someone has already read your message before you have deleted it.

Read the latest news about WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *